This is the "20th & 21st Century" page of the "Who Exhibtied What, Where, and When?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Who Exhibtied What, Where, and When?  

Indexes to Exhibition Catalogs; Group and One-Person Shows.
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2011 URL: http://oberlin.libguides.com/WhoExhibitedWhat Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

20th & 21st Century Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

▲ = electronic resource

 A+M Bookstore: Contemporary Art Books

via Tadino, 30 20124 Milano
tel +39 02-29527729

fax +39 02-29526115
info@artecontemporanea.com

This Italian bookstore specializing in contemporary art has a database of 9,500 titles including out-of-print titles.   Records for exhibition catalogs include a list of “artisti”: names of artists included in the show.  NB: The only way I could enter the site was to through the “arte contemporanea” link at the bottom of the page.  None of the other links (including “enter”) worked.

[BQP viewed 10/19/05]

  The Annual Exhibition Record of the Art Institute of Chicago, 1888-1950.* (OBIS)

Art Institute of Chicago
Art N 6505 .A635 1990

"Incorporating three annual exhibition series, Annual Exhibition of American Paintings & Sculpture, 1888-1950, Annual Exhibition of Works by Artists of Chicago & Vicinity, 1897-1950, Annual Exhibition of Watercolors by American Artists, 1888-1950 (including the International Exhibition of Water Colors, 1921-1943).

 

ARTbibliographies MODERN. (OBIS)

Santa Barbara, Calif.: American Bibliographical Center-Clio Press.
Paper: v.1 - v.24#2, (1969-1993), Art Z 5935 .L64
Web: 1974 – present. 

ARTbibliographies MODERN (ABM) indexes and abstracts articles dealing with 20th century art in about 300 US and foreign periodicals, more than half of which are in English.  US and foreign books, artists’ books, exhibition catalogs, festschriften and theses are also included in an attempt to cover all relevant material published since 1972.  (Theses are culled from Dissertation Abstracts International.)  A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.  ABM is one of the few sources that lists individual artists participating in group shows.   ABM also includes exhibition catalogs from nearly 400 museums and galleries in Europe and North America indexing around 800 exhibition catalogs annually.   The subjects of art and design are emphasized; architecture and 19th century art are covered until 1988.  Photography is included from its invention in 1839 to the present.

[BQP 10/7/03] 

Asian Art Archive

11/F Hollywood Centre, 

233 Hollywood Rd,

Sheung Wan, Hong Kong

Dedicated to documenting 20th and 21st century art in China, Taiwan and Macao, the Asian Art Archive’s mission is to “Research, collate and catalogue published and unpublished material relating to contemporary Asian art, to form the most comprehensive resource available for visual art in the region.”   The catalog art related material including exhibition catalogues, monographs, books, periodicals, leaflets, invitations, clippings, DVDS, CD-ROMS and videos. 

[viewed 15Oct08BQP]

 Record of the Carnegie Institute's International Exhibitions, 1896-1996* (OBIS)

Carnegie Institute's International exhibitions
Art  N 6487.P57 C377 1998

 

Contemporary Artists Index

Gund Library, Cleveland Institute of Art (CIA).

The Contemporary Artists Index indexes over 20,000 artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in group exhibition catalogs added to the library since 1991, as well as the video periodical Art Today and View, a periodical specializing in artist interviews.  The index includes Gund Library call numbers.”                 

[fr Gund Lib web site, viewed 9/26/05, BQP not in akr]

 The Biennial Exhibition Record of the Corcoran Gallery of Art, 1907-1967*  (OBIS)

Corcoran Gallery of Art
Art ND 212 .B5 1991    

 

Index of American Print Exhibitions, 1882-1940 (OBIS)

Wilson, Raymond L
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1988
Art  NE 507 .W55 1988 

 

Index of American Watercolor Exhibitions, 1900-1945 (OBIS)

Wilson, Raymond L
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994
Art  ND 1808 .W56 1993 

 

Irish Art Societies and Sketching Clubs : Index of Exhibitors, 1870-1980 (OBIS)

Stewart, Ann M
Dublin, Ireland ; Portland, OR : Four Courts Press, c1997
Art   N 6782 .S67 1997  vol. 1-2 

 

Modern Art Exhibitions, 1900-1916 (OBIS)

Gordon, Donald E.
[Transl.: German by Lucius Grisebach; French by Léopold Jaumonet; Russian by Sara Lehrman]
München, Prestel, 1974
Art  N 6490 .G62 vol. 1-2

An index of artists “of national or international significance to the origin and early stages of modern art” that appear in 851 exhibition catalogs from throughout the world and dating from 1900 to 1916.  1,905 works from these catalogs are illustrated as well.

[BQP 10/6/05] 

The Society of Independent Artists: the Exhibition Record 1917-1944 (OBIS)

Marlor, Clark S.
Park Ridge, N.J.: Noyes Press, c1984
Art N 6512 .M326 1984 

 

 The Annual & Biennial Exhibition Record of the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1918-1989* (OBIS)

Whitney Museum of American Art
Art  N 6512.A638 1991    

"Incorporating the serial exhibitions of: the Whitney Studio Club, 1918-1928; the Whitney Studio Club Galleries, 1928-1930; the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1932-1989."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip