This is the "Quick Links" page of the "Modern Art Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Modern Art Research Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 20, 2012 URL: http://oberlin.libguides.com/ModernArtResearchGuide Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Quick Links Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Research Tools

Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)

Art Full Text (1984 - current)  lists citations to articles in art periodicals from 1984 to the present
Coverage      Time period: pre-history – contemporary
                        Geography: Worldwide
                        Media: All media covered 
Exclusions:  Periodicals only; no exhibition catalogs or books 
Summaries/Abstracts: Available for most articles
Full-text:       Available for some articles
Unique features:
·      Art reproductions are indexed separately; use Document Type "Art Reproduction"
·      Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals limit
Search tips:   For artists, use AT Artist & Work 
                         Search phrases in double quotes: “Louise Lawler”                                                                     [BQP 22Feb'12]

 

ARTbibliographies MODERN

Indexes and abstracts articles on 20th & 21st century art in about 300 US and foreign periodicals, more than half of which are in English.  ABM also includes exhibition catalogs from nearly 400 museums and galleries in Europe and North America indexing around 800 exhibition catalogs annually.  ARTbibliographies MODERN (ABM) is also one of the few sources that lists individual artists participating in group shows.  US and foreign books, artists’ books, exhibition catalogs, festschriften and theses are also included.  A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and foreign-language literature.  The subjects of art and design are emphasized; photography is included from its invention in 1839 to the present.

[BQP 10/7/03]

Grove Art Online. 

Oxford University Press, c2007-  
Print: The Dictionary of Art, Art Library, Reference (Writing Resources)  N 31 .D5 1996 (OBIS)

A comprehensive art encyclopedia, this ambitious work covers all media, countries, and periods.  Survey articles cover the cultures, civilizations, and countries of the world, from pre-history to the late 20thc.  Articles on non-Western cultures cover the full range of art forms produced, from architecture to the fine and decorative arts. Artistic styles, movements and theories are included, as are forms, themes, and subject matter.  

In 1999 the Dictionary of Art was digitized; the new edition  -- Grove Art Online -- is regularly revised, updated and expanded.  In 2008 Oxford merged Grove Art Online with three Oxford art encyclopedias -- The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms – creating a new product Oxford Art Online.

[BQP/mo 2Sept08]


Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
[fr. OBIS note BQP 6Sept'11]
 

Library Catalogs

Journal Finder -- Search for electronic and physical journals at Oberlin College.

OBIS -- Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.

OhioLINK -- Search for books in any of Ohio's libraries.

WorldCat -- Search for books anywhere in the world.


 

Image Databases

ARTstor

A comprehensive image database containing approximately 1,000,000 images documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

Collection of approximately 95,000 art images contributed and described by leading museums. All rights-cleared for educational use.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip