Medieval ArchitectureMedieval SculptureMedieval Paintings & Manuscripts
This is the "Databases & Indexes" page of the "Medieval Art & Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medieval Art & Architecture  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://oberlin.libguides.com/Medieval Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases & Indexes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

▲ = electronic resource

Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)

Art Full Text (1984 - current)

H.W. WIlson Company, 1929 - 

The most widely used art index in U.S., Art Abstracts lists citations to articles in fine art periodicals by subject and author (of the article). All periods and media are covered. In the mid-1990's select articles are abstracted. Entries in the database also cite selected art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements, under the artists' names. Exhibition catalogs and books are not included, although reviews of each are. Book reviews are included from the mid-1970's onward; the print predecessor of Art Abstracts, Art Index (Art Z 5937 .A78), has book reviews from 1929 onward. As of the fall, 2006 full text articles are available selectively.

[BQP/mo 2Sep08; 7Feb’11] 

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art 

1975- 2007

The most current and thorough index available for the history of European and American art.  Coverage:
·  European art from late Antiquity (4th century A.D.) to the present
·  American art from the colonial period to the present
·  Fine Arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints)
·  Film, photography and all contemporary new media
·   “…all objects of material culture that are of interest to the art historian.”        
·   Indexes books, periodical articles, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, art dealers catalogs, and conference proceedings.

[BQP 9/16/03; 19Nov’10]


 Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index. 

[Haverford, Pa.: Magill Library, Haverford College, 1996]-

An index to almost 500 journals (including book reviews) as well as exhibition catalogs and collected essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.  The time period covered is AD 450 to 1500 (with Russia extending to 1613  -- the beginning of the Romanov dynasty).  The geographic scope includes Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans traveled.  Sexuality and gender is interpreted to include articles on masculinity and male homosexuality.  Publications in English, French, German, and Spanish have been indexed since the project began in 1996.  Materials in Italian began to be included in the database in May 2001.  Books by a single author are not indexed.  The index currently covers publications issued from 1990 - 2007 though no year is completely indexed.

[BQP viewed 21Feb'11]


IBM: International Medieval Bibliography  

Turnhout (Belgium): Brepols Publishers NV; Brepolis: Brepols Publishers Online
Books (BCM: Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale) is not part of Oberlin's subscription.

An interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, the IMB covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period 400-1500.  The IMB Database contains articles from journals (periodicals) and "miscellanies" (collected essays, conference proceedings and Festschriften).

 [viewed bqp 23sept08]

 

ITER: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe 

 University of Toronto: ITER inc., 1997? - .  

A bibliography of 1.1 million citations covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) and drawn from over 1,700 medieval and renaissance journals going back to 1784 as well as essays in books dating back to 1931.  

Iter can be searched by keyword (called ‘any field), title, author and, for selected records (items dated after 1990), Library of Congress subject headings and supplemental vocabulary.  There are a basic and advanced search modes; the latter allows Boolean (i.e., and, or, etc.) searching.  Results may be limited by language or type of record (e.g., book, review, article) and publication year.

[BQP 9/16/03] 

Web Directories

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies.

Deborah Everhart and Martin Irvine, Co-Directors
Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University, © 1994-2005

The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies resources on the Web.. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus allow combinations of specific subject categories with types of digital documents. The resulting list of relevant “hits” then provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on servers around the world. This easy to use system is a vast improvement over the “lists of lists” common on other “webliographies.”

[BQP/mo 20Sept08]

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources.

Beau A.C. Harbin
© 1995 - 2005 by Beau A.C. Harbin

A database of links to thousands of web sites that can be searched (both simple and advanced) or browsed.  Has a lengthy glossary (over 1,500 terms) and news of interest to medievalists.

[BQP/mo 20Sept08]

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip