This is the "Biography" page of the "Japanese Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Art  

Last Updated: May 6, 2011 URL: http://oberlin.libguides.com/JapaneseArt Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Biography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

.

Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Art (OBIS)

Yutaka Tazawa, ed.  Tokyo: Kodansha International, New York: International Society for Educational Information, 1981.
Art Ref. N 7358 .B55 1981

The biographical entries in this dictionary are arranged by media since the art form is discussed as well as its practitioners, so the index must be used to find all references to an artist.   Complemented by maps, an extensive bibliography, black and white plates and charts of artistic lineages and families, this title includes contemporary art and covers all media.  Some entries list museums owning the artist's work.  The index lists artists' names written in Japanese characters and a bibliography in the back lists a few titles about each artist.

[BQP 8/17/01]

Japanese Women Artists, 1600-1900 (OBIS) 

Fister, Pat.
Lawrence: Spencer Museum of Art, University of Kansas, 1988. First edition.
Art N 7353.5 .F57 1988

Catalog of an exhibition held at the Spencer Museum of Art, Apr. 2-May 22, 1988 and the Honolulu Academy of Arts, Sept. 21-Oct. 23, 1988.

 

Index of Japanese Painters (OBIS) 

Toyo Bijutsu Kokusai Kenkyukai. Compiled by The Society of Friends of Eastern Art.  Rutland, Vt.: Charles E. Tuttle, 1958
Art ND 1058 .T65 1958

 

 A Dictionary of Japanese Artists: Painting, Sculpture, Ceramics, Prints, Lacquer(OBIS)

Roberts, Laurence P.
Tokyo and New York: Weatherhill, published for the Japan Society, 1976.
Art Ref. N 7358 .R6   

Geared toward the western reader, this rather concise biographical dictionary covers artists who died before 1972.  Artists are listed alphabetically by western names, but entries do provide their corresponding characters and alternate names.  The entries also include a list of museum collections that house works by the artist, in addition to short bibliographies.  Finally, there is a brief glossary, an index of alternate names and a character index.

[BQP 8/23/01, MJR 2/15/02]

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip