This is the "AMAM Collection Catalogs" page of the "Allen Memorial Art Museum - Objects in the Museum" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Allen Memorial Art Museum - Objects in the Museum  

Last Updated: Mar 9, 2012 URL: http://oberlin.libguides.com/AMAMObjects Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

AMAM Collection Catalogs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

.

The Allen Memorial Art Museum (AMAM) has produced four catalogs and one check-list of its collections; the most accessible and up-to-date are the collection databases on their web site (item 2 below).  For policies and use of the curatorial (a.k.a. shadow) files see Researching the Collection.

1.  Allen Memorial Art Museum: highlights from the collection. (OBIS)
     Andria Derstine, Charles Mason, Stephanie Wiles.
     Oberlin, Ohio: Allen Memorial Art Museum/Oberlin College, 2011
     Art Library,  N 650 .A52 2011, (7 copies total, copies 1 & 2 are in Art Reference)

Divided into three parts: 1) A museum for Oberlin.  2) The collection: African, Ancient, Asian, American, European, Modern & contemporary, Prints & drawings, Photographs.  3) Beyond the galleries: Academic programs, K/12 education programs, Weltzheimer/Johnson House, Art rental collection, Friends of art.  Essays for many works not covered in previous catalogs of the collection.  No bibliographies.

     

2. Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College
    Oberlin, Ohio, Oberlin College

Under “Collections” find the following databases:

Collection Areas – Highlights of the collection
Artists Index – Alphabetical list of artists and their works.  Entries may be brief or extensive.
Recent Acquisitions -- Works recently acquired
Conservation and Care of Collections -- Conservation of objects in the collection
Charles P. Parkhurst Conservation Fund -- Information about this endowed fund
Provenance Research -- 30 works from the WWII era with incomplete provenances
Search the Collection – Leads to the eMuseum, the most comprehensive list of works owned by the Allen Museum.  Many records include images.  Information from the 1967 catalog (Catalogue of European and American Paintings....) and 1976 catalog (Catalogue of Drawings and Watercolors ....) is still being added to eMuseum; refer to those earlier catalogs when appropriate.  (eMuseum replaces the Masterworks for learning: a college collection catalogue (1998) CD-ROM.)                                            [BQP 7Mar'12]

                       

3. Catalogue of Drawings and Watercolors in the Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College. (OBIS)
    Wolfgang Stechow
    Oberlin, Ohio: Oberlin College, 1976
    Art Library, NC 25 .O25 O256 (3 copies total, 1 copy is in Art Reference)

Documents drawings and watercolors acquired through the early 1970s.

[BQP 7/12/01]

4. Catalogue of European and American Paintings and Sculpture in the Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College. (OBIS)
    Oberlin, Ohio, Oberlin College, 1967 
    Art Library Reference, N 650 .A57 copies 1 & 5
    Art Library, N 650 .A57 copies 3, 4 & 6

Scholarly entries and black and white images make this an excellent resource for works acquired through the mid-1960s. Selected entries in this catalog have been updated and are on the museums web site.                              [BQP 24Oct08]

 

5.  Prints in the Allen Memorial Art Museum: Catalog. (OBIS)
     Compiled by J. Chvostal
     Oberlin: [The Museum] 1988
     Art Library Reference,  N 650 .A575 1988

A checklist with basic information (Artist, birth/death dates, Acc.#, Title, Media) but there are no images. Prints are arranged first by century then nationality.

[BQP 1/11/05]

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip